How are your rigs staffed?

CodeSurfer

Forum Captain
Are you guys set up with an EMT and Paramedic on each rig (ALS) or do you usually have two medics? Does anyone know about San Diego in particular? It makes sense for there to be one EMT partnered with a medic... but I'm new to all this so I could be wrong.

Summit

Critical Crazy
We usually run as pairs of Basic/IVs out of each station.
Paramedic Fly units respond from the two central stations.

We have a few Intermediate + Basic/IV crews and a few crews where a Basic does not have IV certification.

At night we may sometimes run Basic/IV + Paramedic ALS ambulances out of the main station.

Another county near hear runs double medic ambulances almost exclusively. Most of the surroudning counties run ALS ambulances with a basic/IV and a medic.

rescuecpt

Community Leader Emeritus
Since we're vollie agencies, we run with whoever shows up... LOL.

At the FD the minimum is FF Driver and EMT. At the Corps it's usually 2 EMTs (one to drive, one to tech...). My crew has 2 EMT-B's (both drivers), myself (ALS), and now 2 probies. So we're huge, but we can only roll one rig technically.

That all goes away when you have multiple calls and start pageing out.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
Originally posted by rescuecpt@Feb 22 2005, 01:23 PM
Since we're vollie agencies, we run with whoever shows up... LOL.

Same here, but the state has some minimum requirements.

For a medical call, we must have an EMT and somebody certified Advanced First Aid.
For a trauma, we must have an EMT and a First Responder.
Both of these rules are void if there are two EMTs on board.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Our rigs are as follows:
ALS = 2 EMT-Paramedics
BLS = 2 EMT-Basics (or an EMT-I or P)
Paramedic First Responder = 1 EMT-Paramedic in a Tahoe with no IV kit or drug box

rescuecpt

Community Leader Emeritus
Well, of course we have a minimum of 1 EMT for any call.

SafetyPro2

Forum Safety Officer