EMT to Nursing

heathchic1

Forum Ride Along
Right now i am an EMT B and have been for the last year. I love the job but wish i could get less BS calls. I am getting pre reqs right now for either nursing or medic and i cant decide which route i want to go. I think i would hate being a nurse (i dont want to deal with most of our patients long term) but the money is in nursing and i can be a traveling nurse. Medic i think would be more fun but so many medics get burnt out and if you get injured you are out of luck.

I was wondering if there were any nurses out there who were EMTs and if you could give me you story!

Thanks

Aprz

The New Beach Medic
I'm not an RN and don't know too much details on this, but I work with some RNs that work on a CCT rig. They don't have to deal with patients for very long, get paid bank, and they can even go in a helicopter depending. They get paid well, but can't throw numbers at you unfortunately. Looking up their position on the Internet in my area, they require at least 3 years in a ICU and a BSN though. So in a sense you could work in an ambulance still, get paid more than a medic, and do the 911 of IFT. As an EMT, I always like working with these nurses too cause it's the only time we go lights and sirens, get to learn about cool nurses (I learned about an oscillator yesterday), different drugs that aren't in EMS, etc.

Last edited by a moderator:

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
Another thing to consider with Nursing is that usually you can challenge the NREMT-P and become a Paramedic after becoming a Nurse. As a Nurse, you have a wide range of care fields you can get into,and many of them do NOT result in having to provide care for patients for more than a few hours at a time.

My advice is to work on the prereq's for Nursing as those usually mirror or are more rigorous than those required for Paramedic.