Emt i-85

RoxyGurL

Forum Probie
Reaction score
I tried looking through previous messages to see if this has been brought up before.

I am a Tennessee EMT-IV and a National Registry Basic. I have to be dual-licensed in GA for the company I work with due to some new 911 contracts we just won.

They want us all to get our National I-85.

How much longer will the I-85 be recognized? Is it a waste of time/money?

Any help is appreciated!

Until 2013 I believe. If your company is requiring it shouldn't they pay for it?

If not taking means you lose your job I'd say that makes it worth it but thats just me. Once the switch is made to AEMT it's just a quick bridge course to bridge up to it from I/85.

Or you could always try going paramedic and get paid that much more... to me it sounds like the national level is trying to do away with intermediates. They are keeping paramedic levels the same, but now in EMT class they are adding some paramedic assist skills (like operating a monitor, preparing an IV, assisting with intubation, etc.)

That being said, the national level is only a minimum requirement. So it depends on the region you are in that may or may not keep the Intermediates, well it's now AEMT.

Last edited by a moderator:
I was not originally going to get my national I-85 since I am going to Paramedic school next fall, but now that my company has contracts which require a national level I-85 I am taking it. They are going to reimburse us for all expenses.

Since I just graduated this year I do not have to take a course. I am now signed up for the exam & practical. Eek!

I was just wondering how long they would recognize the I-85.

Let me guess rox you work for pucket ems, lifeguard ems, or angle ems in chattanooga Tn lol I'm in the same boat I work for walker county ems and I'm going to have to test up once obtaining my licens

now in EMT class they are adding some paramedic assist skills (like operating a monitor, preparing an IV, assisting with intubation, etc.)