EMS (in TN especially) is a joke

Tnaemt94

Forum Crew Member
As a kid, I admired the work of EMS and spent a large portion of my high school years preparing myself to become an EMT.

After I graduated and pursued a career in EMS, I realized how "bottom of the barrel" it really is.

I literally had a paramedic ask me how to spell a three-letter word. I was like, "seriously?" It seems like almost anyone can be an EMT or even a medic in this case. Well, maybe not everyone. But it seems the intelligence level is very low in EMS. Not a lot of bright folk.

Some of these people I work with look like they haven't taken a bath in ages. All of them smoke multiple packs a day to the point their uniforms are just engulfed with nastiness. The only decent guy is the one around my age who is 20 and has a dad that serves as the city fire chief.

I mean I don't mean to be a **** or anything, but there comes a limit to where you just really start to question.

Now, I am not saying I am perfect. I am far from it. But I can say I have seen a lot more well respected professions. And I believe a lot of it has to do with their appearance and how they conduct themselves too.

Second, there is not a lot of effort and changes put into EMS services here in TN. Not much progression whatsoever. In fact, the services are struggling more than ever.

Third, the reciprocity process in TN is utterly ridiculous. There was some discrepancies because all the licensing from the state I was coming from was done electronically. Tennessee was adamant to have paper copies of certificates and such. Plus, they were requiring additional info, like recommendation letters (as the "Good ol' Boy system TN has). I had to tell the reciprocity office that they were just not going to get hard copies and there was some unnecissary back-and-forth communication that had to be done which made everything longer.