Deaf EMT

Kavsuvb

Forum Captain
I have a question, I started riding back on the EMS truck again and I am deaf in one ear, which means I have Right sensorineural hearing loss. How does your unit or service accommodate Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. What special skills should a Deaf EMT learn, such has how to take a Blood pressure and Lung sounds for deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. What Equipment should be helpful for Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. How can my place where I work accommodate Deaf and Hard of Hearing EMT's and what is your place's best practices. What experience do you have for working with Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
I knew your thread sounded similar, I had to go back to 2012 to locate it.

Reading the replies there, it seems your topic fell on deaf ears.

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Anyone who needs to ask this question the way you have multiple times probably isn’t interested in a real answer, bro.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
I have a question, I started riding back on the EMS truck again and I am deaf in one ear, which means I have Right sensorineural hearing loss. How does your unit or service accommodate Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. What special skills should a Deaf EMT learn, such has how to take a Blood pressure and Lung sounds for deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. What Equipment should be helpful for Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's. How can my place where I work accommodate Deaf and Hard of Hearing EMT's and what is your place's best practices. What experience do you have for working with Deaf/Hard of Hearing EMT's.
I can answer only your last question.

For almost 10 years, I worked for a paramedic who was deaf in one ear. He ran the department, so it would have been relatively easy for him to establish practices or make rules to accommodate himself, but he didn't. Instead, he followed the same departmental policies he'd instituted for the rest of us.