Cpap

noisyone

Forum Probie
Reaction score
I'm a student currently pursuing my EMT certification in Kansas. I was hoping someone could help me understand CPAP a little better, and when it's appropriate to use it.

Please correct me where I might be mistaken. Here is my understanding so far.....

When a patient is in mild respiratory distress, and needs a small amount of O2, we would use a nasal canula set to about 2-6 lpm.

When a patient is in moderate distress, but breathing on their own, we use a non rebreather mask set to about 10-15 lpm.

When a patient is not breathing on their own, or if the breathing is inadequate, we use a BVM.

Where does CPAP come in? Our teacher made it seem like CPAP is great, but I don't really understand what the criteria is for using it.

Thanks in advance.

How about if the patient is breathing on their own, but the breaths are too slow or too shallow to provide proper perfusion? You osculate the lung quadrants, and the lower lobes present diminished breathing sounds..

How about a patient with COPD who has pulmonary edema?

How about if the patient is breathing on their own, but the breaths are too slow or too shallow to provide proper perfusion? You osculate the lung quadrants, and the lower lobes present diminished breathing sounds..

How about a patient with COPD who has pulmonary edema?

May want to auscultate the lung fields first haha...

Think about what sort of disease processes prevent the patient's airway from remaining "open" (for a simpler term). In many cases a BVM could be used in the same manner, but it is far more difficult to do so.

BVMs, are awesome, but lets say you're working the ER and a patient needs breathing assist. There's no way you want to stand at their bedside for the next 6 hours squeezing a bag, right?