Can Medics be wrong?

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
The topic came up in another thread that perhaps ALS isn't always right, and sometimes they do things that are wrong in front of us.

What if a medic is preforming an ALS-level skill in front of "you" a hypothetical BLS provider who for some reason knows the procedure is wrong... like large bore IV's in the hands out of "spite".

What do you do?

Hastings

Noobie
The topic came up in another thread that perhaps ALS isn't always right, and sometimes they do things that are wrong in front of us.

What if a medic is preforming an ALS-level skill in front of "you" a hypothetical BLS provider who for some reason knows the procedure is wrong... like large bore IV's in the hands out of "spite".

What do you do?

Purposely doing something to harm the patient? Keep quiet until you can tell a supervisor ASAP.

Doing something you believe is incorrect? Well, as a Paramedic myself...

As long as it's not placing the patient in danger, don't question me in front of the patient or bystanders. In a respectful way, ask me WHY I did things as I did them AFTER the call is over and we're in private. Phrase it in a "desire to learn" manner. Be respectful. Don't tell me I did something wrong. Accept that there may be alternative ways of doing things.

If it is causing risk to the patient however, find a VERY diplomatic (and more so, subtle) way of asking me about it. Do not confront me in front of the patient or bystanders. I am wrong sometimes. Tread lightly, be respectful, be subtle. As long as you act in that manner, I am very open to hearing your opinion on how something may be done in a better way.

Last edited by a moderator:

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Me do something worng?... You'r kidding?..