Arrogant EMT's?

Caspar

Forum Crew Member
As a new EMT, I have realized that many EMT's and first responders think that they are always right and often make snarky remarks to other co-workers. I have obviously met really great EMT's who are always willing to teach/help out, but there will always be a few who are just so full of themselves. How do you guys deal with these people when on calls? Some of these people are much more experienced than me and so I would feel out of place to call them out on stuff.

COmedic17

Forum Asst. Chief
There's arrogant EMTs and Medics.

I'm usually just tell them to eat a bag of........ Cereal.

SeeNoMore

Old and Crappy
I'd suggest being patient as a new Emt and learning more about the job and culture before you say too much. There are lots of arrogant fools and some excellent clinicians. Many people are somewhere in between.

Ewok Jerky

PA-C
Welcome to the world. People are the same everywhere you go and EMS has the same issues as any work place. Deal accordingly.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
As a new EMT, I have realized that many EMT's and first responders think that they are always right and often make snarky remarks to other co-workers. I have obviously met really great EMT's who are always willing to teach/help out, but there will always be a few who are just so full of themselves. How do you guys deal with these people when on calls? Some of these people are much more experienced than me and so I would feel out of place to call them out on stuff.
Well are they right?

When you're new, it's not worth getting into it with people who are right and present that in a crappy manner.

joshrunkle35

EMT-P/RN
My personal, subjective experience has been that the loud, arrogant people in EMS actually know the least, and are most often wrong, whereas the quiet humble people are really on top of their game.

Amelia

You're stuck w/ me now (insert evil laughter here)