Application or Resume? Walk in?

antonio7983

Forum Probie
I am having trouble writing a resume because I have zero experience working as an emt i have everything my driving certificate my emt county card and im About to look for a Job , Do i go to the companies and ask for an application or do I take them my resume? A little help if its ok with you guys and girls id appreciate it thanks.^_^

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Walk in and introduce yourself and pick up their application.

For your standard EMS job, there is no need for a resume to be submitted. First, you fill out their application and attach a resume for review if you wish, however at this point in your employment history, there is very little worthwhile info for you to put on a resume.

They want a body, with a certification and a clean driving and criminal background (and even that is optional at times). :)

Sapphyre

Forum Asst. Chief
Might be too late for this, but.

Some companies offer their application for download and printing. At the minimum you need their application, and all your certifications. Some of them will even accept the application online, and you only bring in your certs when they ask to see you.

Personally, I went in with the application, a resume (I had experience that didn't fit anywhere in the application which was relevant that I wanted to convey), a cover letter, as well as copies of everything, front and back. The reaction I got with that seemed that I was out of the norm. Oh, and it should go without saying, don't go in in cut offs, a tank top, and flip flops...

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
the "superprofessionalists" here will tell you you need to submit a resume and cv for every job.