Anyone working for Boston EMS?

sdafbkfsdbkjdsf

Forum Crew Member
Been looking to relocate for a while from georgia. I've been a paramedic for about 3 years and looking into boston EMS. I did a lot of research on it and I see that everyone starts off being an emt. And for applying, can I put in my application with my Massachusetts emt-p license ( when I get one) or do I have to obtain and emt-b license? And last, I've been seeing that the shifts are 8hrs for 5 days then just two days off, or do you guys have 12 hour shifts, I'm just trying to figure out the shift schedule because I can't find it anywhere online. Thanks for reading.

Meursault

Organic Mechanic
Been looking to relocate for a while from georgia. I've been a paramedic for about 3 years and looking into boston EMS. I did a lot of research on it and I see that everyone starts off being an emt. And for applying, can I put in my application with my Massachusetts emt-p license ( when I get one) or do I have to obtain and emt-b license? And last, I've been seeing that the shifts are 8hrs for 5 days then just two days off, or do you guys have 12 hour shifts, I'm just trying to figure out the shift schedule because I can't find it anywhere online. Thanks for reading.

I can't answer your questions, but I'd advise you not to relocate with the expectation of working for Boston. They hire infrequently, competition is fierce, and they just finished a hiring cycle. Also, everyone starts off as an EMT, and most stay EMTs; Boston only runs a few (~5) paramedic units.

The cost of living in Greater Boston is fairly high, and no other service in the area offers comparable pay or work environment. Moving up here would likely be a poor financial/work satisfaction decision.

OP
OP
S

sdafbkfsdbkjdsf

Forum Crew Member