Annoying EMT student back for round 2...

AMPEMT85

Forum Probie
So, I help teach the EMT class where I live. I basically just teach skills (splinting, airway, OB, backboarding, pt assessment...) and there's this student who is back for another try from last semester. They drive everyone crazy. It took this individual an hour to do a pt assessment on mid-term testing last week....

Anyways, when the semester starts out, I almost always run one of the airway stations and just like last semester, this person made me second guess myself on a question he asked me and said they were going to consult the book. Now when I went through, the NR hadn't taken over our county protocols yet, nor the curriculum, but 2 years later, things have changed.

This person is very book "smart" (I say the word smart not referring to intelligence, but rather the only thing they're good at). I had to walk them through the entire process of airway management because "I've never done this before"....*sniff sniff* I smell something that belongs on a ranch from a male cow....

I've never had a problem with a student before, and this one is getting on my nerves all over again. They didn't pass final last semester so they decided to come back again. They're in their 50's at least, are very cocky, always asking stupid questions, and trying to make the proctors feel stupid. They always verbalize what they're going to do, not actually do it. Ex: "I would palpate the abdomen" or "I would check for a gag reflex"...

I did put them back in their place last week when I made him be lead EMT for a broken femur at my sager traction splint station. II told him that he had "lost his license" because he didn't continue to hold traction after setting the leg straight...he was dumbfounded and I was elated...(don't mess with me!!!)