Why EMS?

pvac

Forum Probie
Lately, I have been experiencing a bit of nervousness on calls. I am not sure if it's because I am closer to finishing up my EMT class, or maybe it's because I have seen quite a bit, and have heard all the stories of what transpires on certain calls... Assaults, hit and runs, nasty MVA's. Usually, those calls go so fast, you have no time to think about what is happening. You just do it.

It's the medical calls that make my throat dry, and my heart pound. Why? Maybe more person to patient contact is the reason. I don't know. At times, I wonder if I am cut out for this, even as a volunteer. It helps to hear others on this board share their stories. It also gives me great benefit to know that the person I am treating is relying on me to help them, and in a sense... for me, it makes the situation greater than any doubt/hesitation I may be feeling.

I trust my training and realize that certain things may be out of my control.

I am extremely new to EMS, about a year in at an all volunteer organization.
I like it, and it has enabled me to control my emotions and get things done.

You really don't know what your capable of until you push yourself and not give up.

That's my daily observations...

Glorified

Forum Lieutenant
I am in the same boat, and I think it is because we are so inexperienced, especially with things we can't directly see or understand immediately i.e., medical problems. I think that time will make us more confident, but there will always be stuff that we have no or barely any idea on.

mfrjason

Forum Lieutenant
Dont feel bad,I felt the same way when I first got involved in EMS work,its not unusual to get that feeling.

Last edited by a moderator:

mfrjason

Forum Lieutenant