Who get's to drive?

Blessed187

Forum Lieutenant
Hi everyone,

My questions is, if I was working for an ambulance service would I be able to drive as just a EMT-B or Emt-I? Or do I need to be a paramedic?

I am new to all this I just registered for my EMT-B class today. I am an undergrad, degree seeking for Paramedic Lic.

Thanks

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
Here it depends on the call. Crews switch off between EMT and Medic around town and to the call. Then depending on if its BLS/ILS or ALS the provider not providing care drives on the return trip.

OP
OP
B

Blessed187

Forum Lieutenant
Okay, thank you!

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
If you're doing 911, the vast majority of the time, the EMT will be driving.

If you're doing IFT, it really depends on what you have worked out with your partner. Some medics have the EMTs drive all the time, some switch off every other call.

I get weird looks from EMTs I havent worked with before when I hop in the drivers seat...

OP
OP
B

Blessed187

Forum Lieutenant
If you're doing 911, the vast majority of the time, the EMT will be driving.

If you're doing IFT, it really depends on what you have worked out with your partner. Some medics have the EMTs drive all the time, some switch off every other call.

I get weird looks from EMTs I havent worked with before when I hop in the drivers seat...

Okay I gotcha, I used to work at a private mental hospital and the medics that came in to take the patients over to the hospital for medical clearence I assume that was there job for the day? I guess what I'm asking is, are medics assigned to 911 on day and non-ER cases other days?

JPINFV

Gadfly
Depends on the service and the contracts held.

OP
OP
B

Blessed187

Forum Lieutenant
Depends on the service and the contracts held.