What to expect?

DPM

Forum Captain
Hi guys / girls,

I'm (clearly!) new here and I've got a few questions. I'm an EMT-B and a former Soldier with quite a bit of trauma under my belt and I'm about 1/3 through the didactic portion of medic school. However, I'm yet to actually work on an Ambulance and I don't really know what to expect. I know some people will grumble that I don't have the experience for Medic school yet but I don't subscribe to that view and I'm doing well.

What I'm curious about is what happens after you get hired as an EMT? I understand that the process will differ from county - state - agency but any pointers would be great. Am I expected to know my way around the city like a cab driver? Is there any kind of OJT/ Preceptor type thing? And does anyone know where an Englishman in Santa Cruz, California can actually get hired as an EMT? As far as I can tell AMR has the contract for here and they ride duel medic...

Thanks in advance,

DPM

systemet

Forum Asst. Chief
I think this depends very much on the organisation you get hired with. I worked some places where a new medic basically got something like "here's the narcs", "here's the map", "any questions", "here's your emt". I worked others where you could expect 3 weeks in the classroom, learning the system, being certified for various clinical trials, getting shown service-specific equipment, touring facilties, meeting specialty teams, dealing with corporate HR etc, then as much as a month of third-riding with an ALS crew, then a month or two of second riding with an FTO. Can you guess which service was the better one to work for? :)