What are you allowed to do?

clibb

Forum Captain
What does your Medical Director allow you to do?

I work on ALS rigs as an EMT-B. I'm allowed to do all the basic medications such as Epinephrine, Glucose, ASA, Nitro, Oxygen, but we do not carry Acti-dose. As an IV certified EMT I'm also allowed to push D10, D25, and D50. Also in narcotic overdoses I'm allowed to push Narcan which is freaking sweet. Just recently we got extra training in King Tube intubation, so we are allowed to do that.
Plus any ALS assist that the Paramedic asks us to do.

How about you guys?

usalsfyre

You have my stapler
Considering most of my past experinces with narcan, I disagree with how "freaking sweet" administering it is...

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Anything my med control wants me to.

Lola99

Forum Lieutenant
Hehe. We had a medic give narcan once for OD. Later, we heard him giving report. Pt was restrained, medic said he thought they'd be boxing. Then cutting out we heard, "Yep, we're gonna be boxing..." This came over the radio at the station while my basic class was in the next room.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
In NM:
The following plus general FR skills like 02, CBG, splinting, etc...
a. Allowable Skills:
1. Mechanical positive pressure ventilation.
2. Use of multi-lumen, supraglottic, and laryngeal airway devices (examples:
PTLA, Combi-tube, King Airway, LMA)
3. Pneumatic anti-shock garment
4. Application and use of semi-automatic defibrillators
5. Acupressure
6. Transport of patients with nasogastric tubes, urinary catheters, heparin/saline
locks, PEG tubes, or vascular access devices intended for outpatient use
b. Administration of approved medications via the following routes:
1. Nebulized inhalation
2. Subcutaneous
3. Intramuscular
4. Intranasal
5. Oral (PO)
c. Allowable Drugs
1. Oral glucose preparations
2. Aspirin PO for adults with suspected cardiac chest pain
3. Activated charcoal PO
4. Acetaminophen PO in pediatric patients with fever