Trying to move up in EMS

NaimElm

Forum Ride Along
Hey y’all! Just having some thoughts about where I am in this field and would like some input.

I’ve been a TX paramedic for a little over two years now, and an EMT for three prior. I’ve worked rural 911 ALS and while I’d hardly call myself a master, I decided it’s time to move on and advance to something else. Right now I’m on contract in a pediatric ER, and I’m mulling over wether to shoot for critical care/flight or go for my community paramedic.

If I go the critical care route, I’m not going to take it lightly. I know two years of low-volume EMS isn’t going to cut it for experience, but I am taking a critical care course for the knowledge and am considering challenging the IBSC CCP-C early just to have the cert ahead of time. Once the contract is over I’m going to find a busy 911 service and go get my *** kicked for a while until I feel like I’m ready. The end goal here is pediatric/neonatal CC transport.

If I go community paramedic, there are a good number of programs starting up around me and I figure I’ll be competitive for them since a have a B.S. in a health field. I’ll study for and challenge the CP-C to just make my resume more attractive and sell myself better to prospective employers.

On one hand, I really enjoy the idea of going CC from a clinical aspect. Taking care of very sick people and having to be on top of my training and knowledge in every respect seems very fulfilling from a job. On the other hand, I like the idea of being a part of a new health initiative and helping pts with care plans, medication, and essentially stopping them from needing an ambulance in the first place.

Anyone have any insight about either pathway?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
For myself it was critical care and where I am really the only critical care medics are on HEMS. No local providers are doing anything community health related so that would have been a pointless direction to head for me.