Tachycardic dialysis patient

energystar

Forum Crew Member
Get a call for a dialysis transfer to take patient back to her SNF. Pt is a 92 y/o female with dementia and renal disease, no cardiac. Upon finishing up dialysis treatment pt is tachy at 130. Dr at facility requests we take pt to ER rather than back home. With a 2 minute ETA to the closest receiving I decided to load and go. I am only an emt-b and I do realize this is an ALS call. With an ETA of 5-6 minutes for ALS, is it in the patients best interest to load with a short ETA to hospital like 2 minutes or call ALS and wait for their arrival? Thanks in advance for your opinions.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Go to the hospital. If all of the patients vitals are normal then ALS isn't going to do anything aside from possibly a IV and a EKG. I believe SVT is at a rate of 150 or higher (I believe there is some kind of equation that involves the patients age) and medics in at least my area can only treat SVT. However if the patient is hemodynamicaly (sp?) stable then the patient isn't going to get medics or Edison medicine (cardioverted).

Sorry for the bad spelling, it's past my bed time :p

adamjh3

Forum Culinary Powerhouse
What was her BP? What were her pre and post dialysis weights?

And yeah, you made the right choice all things considered.

OP
OP
E

energystar

Forum Crew Member
Thanks for the quick responses. All vitals were stable BP at 136/68 RR 18 SpO2 98%. I chose to transport to arrive to a very disgruntled nurse who was not approving of my decision. At hospital I waited to see how the EKG turned out and it was ST normal. It's funny that I picked up the shift as overtime thinking it was a break from the 911 side and I get the most complicated call I have had all week. :wacko:

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
The equation is 220 - age. So 130 is still within the limits of sinus tachycardia for this pt.