soon-to-be paramedic looking for some guidance

Amanda

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys....new-ish member...first time posting...

I am a newb to EMS...EMT-B one year ago and now half way through my Paramedic certification...so excuse my ignorance...

I am set to graduate next may from one of the better paramedic programs in the south Texas area and I have no idea what to do or which direction to go.

I am former military...then private contractor...and decided to make a career change due to wanting to stay stateside and being burned out.

The area I live in does not offer a lot of opportunity outside of the fire/ems bubble other than one service but it is very competitive so I am toying with the idea of obtaining a fire cert to get on with a 911 system and because the environment reminds me of being in the military and my personality meshes really well with that...BUT I'm not sold on being a firefighter and having to work my way through the rank system all over again....any suggestions on what to do????? Any advice is welcome....thanks!

CALEMT

The Other Guy/ Paramaybe?
@STXmedic works for a system where I believe you're a trained firefighter, but you can spend most if not all your time on a ambulance and not a engine if you so desire. I could be wrong, but he can elaborate more on it. Plus its in Texas.

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Amanda...HUGE advice here....

Adopt a screen name ASAP. EMail the mods and change your name to something not identifying to yourself. Sure, you can argue you will never post or say anything which would be of consequence but will that hold true a year from now, 3-5 years from now?

It is best to maintain some privacy and just share a first name or nickname...or go by your screen name. It is for your own good.

I mean I already know you and I have many things in common and have already been stomping the ground in similar spots globally...(example just to prove my point).

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member