Scope Expanded to Combitube

AMF

Forum Crew Member
To the Paramedics who browse the BLS forum,
EMTs in my area (Dallas) recently became able to use combitubes and ET Intubation (and maybe King's?). Do you recommend learning these (I'm a student) or will paramedics mostly take care of this? Also, do people in your profession have some sort of problem with EMTs performing advanced airway interventions? Do you think it's something requires the basic-science background/high clinical exposure you must have?

usalsfyre

You have my stapler
To the Paramedics who browse the BLS forum,
EMTs in my area (Dallas) recently became able to use combitubes and ET Intubation (and maybe King's?). Do you recommend learning these (I'm a student) or will paramedics mostly take care of this? Also, do people in your profession have some sort of problem with EMTs performing advanced airway interventions? Do you think it's something requires the basic-science background/high clinical exposure you must have?

:popcorn:

Considering there's probably close to 100 ambulance services in the Metroplex, I highly doubt it's the whole area, unless theres a move afoot in the Texas EMS culture I don't know about.

To answer you original question, supraglotic airways are fine (think super OPA) but considering how poor paramedics are at ET intubation, no, I don't think basics need to be anywhere near the business end of a laryngoscope.

I really think though, based on the MASSIVE number of threads covering this...:nosoupfortroll:

OP
OP
A

AMF

Forum Crew Member
:popcorn:

Considering there's probably close to 100 ambulance services in the Metroplex, I highly doubt it's the whole area, unless theres a move afoot in the Texas EMS culture I don't know about.

To answer you original question, supraglotic airways are fine (think super OPA) but considering how poor paramedics are at ET intubation, no, I don't think basics need to be anywhere near the business end of a laryngoscope.