Questions about transferring license from FL to CA, and the type of available work in NorCal

esmurph

Forum Ride Along
I feel like I am hitting a wall with every direction which I turn. I am a FL EMT (NREMT-B), but since FL does not recognize AEMT, my scope of practice is currently above that of a standard EMT-B - I am able to give IVs, check blood glucose, assist in certain medications, and put in King airway devices if needed. I fully attend all BLS calls while my Medic partner drives, and he takes all the ALS. From my understanding, the only thing that an AEMT can do that I cannot, is administer medication directly via IV or SQ/IM. I've been working alongside a medic in a busy County 911 ALS service (Escambia) for the last 2 yrs (each truck runs 8-12 calls per shift) and am used to running hard and fast. I see that in most areas of California, 911 ALS services are usually FD, and those that are private (such as AMR) are difficult to get into as an EMT-B. I do have my FFI and my Wildland Fire certifications, but those won't transfer and I'm not sure I want to go through Academy at my age (39y).

Questions:
Can I get into a 911 ALS service based on my experience? Or will I be stuck doing BLS Interfacility Transfers for years on end?
What about going straight into Medic school out there? Do I need my AEMT, or can I challenge with a didactic and skills test and go in with just my EMT-B?
Are there any county 911 ALS services that do not require dual certs (fire/EMS) in Contra Costa, Placerville, or Sonoma County?

I swear I have looked, and looked, and cannot seem to find a definitive answer to these questions, so I appreciate any help that I can get.

Thank you in advance.

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
Getting onto an ALS 911 agency will depend entirely where you want to work. California is large and has lots of options.

CA recognizes AEMT but it's barely used.

CA will use your NREMT to issue your cert.