Primary educator education track

Icenine

Forum Crew Member
Hi all,
I am a newly minted Paramedic and through all my training I've found one universal truth. In my small part of the world there is an epidemic of under-qualified and just plain terrible primary educators.

We are plagued by:
  • Unprepared instructors with poorly formatted lesson plans.
  • No understanding of accepted educational methods.
  • Death by powerpoint as a "way of maintaining the standard".
  • Perpetuation of well debunked myths and whole lies.
  • Ignorance of current events and practices
  • The list continues ad nauseam

As a long term goal I've set my sights on entering the scary field of primary education. Specifically I want to direct paramedic education courses. I am fully prepared to spend several years in the field and earn all of my battle wounds. But while I'm doing that I think I'll finally go to college and get a degree.

All of that to ask ...

When choosing my personal degree track with the above goals in mind, is there a specific program or degree track that would be most/more appropriate than others? Any colleges you know of specifically teaching with these goals in mind? I have several local very good community colleges to get the Associates out of the way. I would specifically be looking for an online program for the rest.

Thanks all!

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Once you accept a teaching position, you are being paid to pound home an agenda in a curriculum. And each semester you are tasked with more and with fewer resources per student to do it.

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
We are plagued by:
as for the first two on your list, then they shouldn't be instructors.