Prehospital nurses

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
Does anyone know of nurses working in the prehospital setting, not including the air?

And would you feel comfortable allowing a good ER nurse with a little prehospital experience riding along with you?

I'm asking because I'm currently an EMT-B student, but I'll have my BSN in 3 years or so. I plan on working in the ED, but I would like to ride on an ambulance occasionally on the side to gain some prehospital experience. Does that make sense? Is that possible?

MSDeltaFlt

RRT/NRP
I believe that every ED RN should do ride alongs with EMS and vise versa. However, depending on the state (I believe), you will be the higher level of care which will throw in a bunch of ethicolegal issues I'm not fully fluent on. If you wanted to go that route, then you would probably need to check with, not only your local EMS agency (if private), but your employer as well; especially if hospital based. You would also need to check with your state EMS and nursing agency.

I hope you can. Good luck.

VentMedic

Forum Chief
There are states (PA, IL, KY) that now certify RNs as PHRN or MICN (CA, NJ). We are also hoping Florida will take the PHRN path and rewrite some old statutes on the books.