PALS or PEPP?

Sasha

Forum Chief
Although most employers are looking for PALS, the director of my school is pushing for everyone to pay for and take a PEPP class at the school in a couple weeks because he prefers it.

Before he brought it up, I had never heard of it. So, my question is who all has had PEPP? Is it very different for PALS? Which do you prefer and why?

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Although most employers are looking for PALS, the director of my school is pushing for everyone to pay for and take a PEPP class at the school in a couple weeks because he prefers it.

Before he brought it up, I had never heard of it. So, my question is who all has had PEPP? Is it very different for PALS? Which do you prefer and why?

I prefer PALS, but as an instructor I may be abit biased.
The PALS course is designed for all healthcare professionals and in all environments. The PEPP class is directed specifically at prehospital providers. I understand usually in a 911 response.

As a benefit PEPP is easier to use for recertification.
But with PALS you will probably be on the same page as every other provider, in addition you may learn about the hospital side of things which will give you better idea on how you can set up children for success later.

I have just taken the online pretest, it seems directed at skills based providers and quite over simplified.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
One can take PALS and then a PEPP course, when recertifying get credit by attending the PEPP course. Both are owned operated by National Pediatrics Academy. PALS is a weak but generic course for both EMS and prehospital, where as PEPP involves more general broad care of pediatric/child including trauma.

As an Instructor Coordinator for both, I usually teach a combined course. It's much easier and getting two certs for one is a bargain

If you want a real Pediatric Emergency Course, I suggest Advanced Pediatric Life Support (APLS called apples)

R/r 911

Last edited by a moderator:

dmiracco