Ok Guys I really need some advice!!!

Lisa

Forum Crew Member
I live in a very rural area, we only have one ambulance service. Our service is county owned but since it is so small everyone is family or close friends with the family. This same family is very involved in the Volunteer FD.
I am in the volly dept and run as a First Responder, I am also an EMT and fill in at the ambulance service when needed. I get along fine with everyone as far as I know. Recently there has been a position come available at the Ambulance service, I have expressed interest and do have some shifts scheduled for the next couple of months. My problem is the medic I would have as a partner seems to be doing everything he can for me not to get the job. There is another EMT who is also interested in the job and he is the medics "choice". Medic doen't like to work with women...he has personal issues. I have done everything I know to do but nothing is working. I feel Like he finds every oppurtunity to make me look stupid or feel like an idiot. I have only been in the "business" about a year. Help!!!!!
I have a shift on Friday and I am already dreading it! I really would like a job at this service because it is close to the house and I already know the ins and outs. I'm really at a loss as to what to do!!!

Sorry for rambling!Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Stevo

Forum Asst. Chief
chavanistic nitwits abound in every profession Lisa, it is a sad commentary on the state of my gender too

~S~

rescuecpt

Community Leader Emeritus
Just don't give him a concrete, evidenced reason to have anything against you. If you work with him and you do your best and you know your stuff, people will recognize that he doesn't have solid ground to stand on when he complains about you.

coloradoemt

Forum Asst. Chief
Do your job, excel at it, improve yourself in it, play well with others, carry yourself professionally....

NJEMTjoe1267

Forum Ride Along