NEED help using the KED

jspinos

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys long story short...I took the EMT exam practical back in AUG and failed because I SECURED the head before the body.... for the Spine Immobilization station

If I get the ked again I want to make sure I do it correctly

Last time I did the follow

Once i got the cervical collar on I placed the KED behind the patient and I started to secure the body..... Yellow strap, red strap , legs , Head , then I did the green on last as taught....is this the correct method

I bought an EMT national dvd and the lady on the dvd does the three body straps then legs then head

which way is correct??

Sorry if this isnt in the right forum im a newbie here

triemal04

Forum Deputy Chief
I think that technically (and I mean really technically) securing the third body strap after the rest of the body and leg straps is how it's supposed to be done. For testing purposes, and for reality, as long as the head is secured last (after all other straps are connected) you shouldn't have a problem. Just work from the chest to the legs and then back to the head and you should be fine.

I think the reasoning behind leaving the last body strap till later was to limit the amount of time that the the chest was being compressed and limiting breathing. Hopefully the KED won't be neccasary for long enough to make that a problem, and always remember to loosen the body straps after they're on the longboard.

OP
OP
J

jspinos

Forum Ride Along
thanks for the quick response bud ...much appreciated

During the test it ends once the KED is in place and there is no backboard in the station

so you think i should do the first 3 chest straps then the legs then the head and I should be fine?

triemal04

Forum Deputy Chief
Yes. The head will ALWAYS be secured last and the chest get's done before the body. So chest-legs-head to make it simple and you'll be fine.

silver

Forum Asst. Chief
good old mnemonic phrases. Helped me pass my KED in August