Medic school

FutureEMT93

Forum Ride Along
Hello, I am a EMT student. I would like to become a Paramedic. Would it better to wait and get experience before I start? Should I go ahead and start once I get my EMT-B? Thanks :)

RESQGUY

Forum Crew Member
Use the search function. Here is the answer though, get experience first. It does not matter if it's ride alongs or EMT time. Do it.

Handsome Robb

Youngin'
Premium Member
If you want to be a paramedic, go to paramedic school.

Will experience make it easier to adjust to being the man/woman in charge? Yes.

Is it doable without experience? Absolutely.

You don't HAVE to have experience as an EMT to be a good medic.

Like RESQ said, there's lots of threads on this topic.

Last edited by a moderator:

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Everyone has different opinions on this subject. Some say yes and some say no.

Honestly it is up to you are the area you are in (some medic programs will only let you apply if you have experience).

I have been told by all of my mentors to get 2-5 years on an ALS 911 ambulance before taking the medic class. The medic school I'm going to be attending (hopefully) requires 6 months of EMT experience. To date I have about a year and a half on a BLS/IFT ambulance and 6 months on an ALS 911 ambulance. I'm hoping to get in the medic program in January so by then I will have roughly 14 months on an ALS unit.

This is what works for me. I have my finances set up accordingly. Everyone that I know (medic wise) says that I am ready for medic school now. My goal is to make medic school as easy as possible so I made sure I dropped down to part time at work so I have free time to still enjoy life.

I have friends who went through medic school (4 days a week) and worked full time (3-4 days a week) and they hated life for the 10 months. I said no to doing that.

mct601

RN/NRP
Asking this question is as bad as going into a truck forum and asking

" FORD, CHEVY, OR DODGE? "