Medic Interning in Sacramento ???

Sodapop

Forum Crew Member
9 months after finishing my hospital rotations and 11 months after finishing classroom portion I have finally secured an internship with Sacramento City Fire. I was wondering if anyone here has interned with them and what your experience was like.

I am spending time reviewing the Sac Protocols, reviewing drug book and Cardiac. Also spending a little lab time to brush up. I am interested in how the "station life" was with Sac City. I worked VFD years ago and work 24/48 with a county EMS 911 system so I am not a total noob. Granted those were as EMT but I was EMT on ALS rig so I have 911 call experience from a scene management standpoint. I have already decided I will not talk about my past experience unless I am directly asked. I am NOT going to be the guy that is always "we use to do it like this...." as I know times are different and I am in a different system and I am in a Medic role now not EMT.

Thanks in advance.

~Sodapop~

DrankTheKoolaid

Forum Deputy Chief
As in Sac City who just had all their narcotics removed and have the protocols of AEMT's recently?

Akulahawk

EMT-P/ED RN
Community Leader
As in Sac City who just had all their narcotics removed and have the protocols of AEMT's recently?
Sac City Fire follows Sacramento County EMS protocol, which does NOT have AEMT protocols. SFD does not have their own protocols. If you're referring to the "missing" narcotics back in 2006, well that was 6 years ago and I seem to recall narcotics going back on the units with further controls. If you know of any AEMT protocols for Sacramento County or current info about them not having any narcotics on any of their units, please show me.