Martial Arts

ta2mama`

Forum Ride Along
Hello! I'm new to the forum and to EMS! I was wondering if there are any fellow taekwondo enthusiasts here. I have been at it for 6 years, soon to test for my 1st degree black belt.

I've been working at my new job only about 2 weeks and I can tell already it will be a challenge to stay fit with these hours. I'm only part-time, so I can try to get in workouts on my days off.

-R-

Rangat

Forum Lieutenant
Well, I don't do TKD, i do MMA. With Rodney Kings Street tough world alliance.

It's fun.

We can discuss it further if u want...:p

OP
OP
ta2mama`

ta2mama`

Forum Ride Along
Hi! MMA rocks, too. We do a bit of Gracie Jujitsu at our school. My instructor thinks its important to know some ground-fighting as well as the TKD stuff. We learn some basic weaponry, too, such as escrima sticks and bo staff.

DT4EMS

Kip Teitsort, Founder
I train regularly.

I hold a third degree in TKD but have researched several arts. My latest passion is Kali-Silat.

Any person that trains needs to be true to themself. Know what it is you want/need/fear and train for it.

I am the constant student!

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
Brown Belt TKD - American Taekwondo Association (ATA)

<<-- Has a six year old niece that outranks him - so sad

Rangat

Forum Lieutenant
hey

Ya, I do the Moshado BJJ. But it's all the same- their family. Have u found that TKD has a lot of value with self protection and street fighting? Or just for fitness? Would you take it into a cage?:p

DT4EMS

Kip Teitsort, Founder
Rangat said:
hey

Ya, I do the Moshado BJJ. But it's all the same- their family. Have u found that TKD has a lot of value with self protection and street fighting? Or just for fitness? Would you take it into a cage?:p

For me, I would not take TKD or any striking only art into any type of MMA type arena.

Most progressive sytems "changed" and added BJJ skills to their core studies after the Gracies changed the world of martial arts.