Is It Ever Our Job to Inform the Family

MicahW

Forum Crew Member
I have heard a couple of different opinions on this topic and I was wondering about all of your opinions. Is it ever our job to call the family?

What if it is a pediatric and it would be benificial if the hospital could get parental consent immediately? What if you find a patient unresponsive and you see the patient's phone ringing and the call is from "Mom" or "Dad". If it were your child, wouldn't you want to know immediately. If a patient is dying, it could be the difference between the family getting to say goodby and not. Also, is it a HIPPA violation (and if it is, would it still be considered so if a patient asked "could you please call my family for me?")?

One of the reasons that I ask is that a couple of months ago, as a student, I signed up to take an all night shift at a music festival. The company with which I was training was running EMS there and we also had a medical tent set up. At about 2030, two guys walked up to the front of the tent and told me that they had lost their friend who was a little too drunk. I told them that this wasn't really an ems matter, but that there was a security tent just a couple of hundred feet over. He said that that wasn't necessary and that he just wanted us to let him know if the friend came in as the result of his ETOH. I asked him if he were sure that that was all that he had had (no drugs) and he said yes. Again, I told him that he was probably looking in the wrong place, and that being slightly drunk doesn't really get you a trip to the medical tent, (if it did, most of the people there would have been in the medical tent). Still, I told him to leave a description and number and that I would call him if his friend showed up.