Is it easier to get hired for a transport service?

Glorified

Forum Lieutenant
As opposed to a 911 service. Especially since I am a student, I need a flexible schedule. Are transport services more lenient with scheduling? Here is the place I would like to work for after I get my NREMT-B certification (God willing). http://www.maineambulance.com/index.html

They do some 911, but only if other towns are overloaded. I actually enjoyed tranfers more on my clinical time, because you actually get to look at the patient and I learned a lot more too. Sure, I liked the 911 calls. It was fun to get the adrenaline flowing, but I enjoyed the transports more. Is this weird?

Last edited by a moderator:

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
Sure, I liked the 911 calls. It was fun to get the adrenaline flowing, but I enjoyed the transports more. Is this weird?

Yes it is!

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
Usually it is eaiser to get in with a transport service, compared to a 911 service.

...but I enjoyed the transports more. Is this weird?

It is a phase. It will pass. Give it a little while... you'll be burned out on transports and be unhappy.

You can learn a lot working transport. Your see a lot of patients that you can't kill, no matter how hard you try. You'll get lots of practice at paperwork, and probably vehicle operations... these are good things, when you go to get a job with a 911 service later.

This service sounds like a good thing, too... the chance to do 911 calls and transports at the same time... this is good experience.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
yes its easier to get on a transport company than a 911 for the simple reason that most of use get into this job for the 911 stuff so when we get that job, we saty there. there is an unreal turnover rate in the private sector(atleast in ma). like one company hiring roughly 30-40% of their satff every year.