Introduction Thread

EMTinNEPA

Guess who's back...
Sorry, I couldn't think of a more creative title.

Anyhoo, I'm EMTinNEPA, or Dan. Whichever you prefer.

I'm an EMT-B in Northeastern Pennsylvania. I work on an ALS truck, work a second job on a BLS truck, and volunteer with yet another BLS truck. I'm also an EMS advisor for the local Explorer's branch (Fire, Police, EMS) and a soon-to-be secondary instructor for the EMT course at the local community college.

After I graduated high school, I wanted to go into communications. After a semester in a big private college and some interning at local TV stations, I realized that everybody in that field is a miserable :censored: who hates their life, and I didn't want to be that person.

Anyway, I dropped out of the big private school and went to a local state school to study music. I studied classical guitar as my principal instrument and wanted to be a guitar teacher. Then I actually GOT a job teaching guitar in a local music store and it made me want to swallow a bottle of tylenol.

So I dropped out of school AGAIN and was looking at the local community college's programs online, looking for something to do with my life, and saw the EMT program. I said "huh, I'm gonna go do that".

In spring of 2008, I got my certification from the PA Dept. of Health and the most flippant decision I ever made turned into a job that I love. I can't imagine doing anything else now.

Yup, that's me.

traumateam1

Forum Asst. Chief
Welcome to the life!

I'm an EMT-B in Northeastern Pennsylvania. I work on an ALS truck, work a second job on a BLS truck, and volunteer with yet another BLS truck. I'm also an EMS advisor for the local Explorer's branch (Fire, Police, EMS) and a soon-to-be secondary instructor for the EMT course at the local community college.