I'm not an EMT, I'm a taxi driver

yowzer

Forum Lieutenant
I'm used to a regular stream of complete BS, abusing the system calls. But yesterday was ridicolous in that respect.

Plus there was a little bit of snow, which turned already bad traffic into something out of a nightmare. Going 2 mph was fast. People were sitting in traffic for 5+ hours to go 2 or 3 miles in some areas.

So what do we get?

The Little Old Lady living in a senior retirement apartment who'd lost 30 pounds over the last couple of months. Her daughter called 911. Just before we left, it was "I'll follow you to the hospital, Mom!"

---

Sent by a hospital we have a contract with to an apartment building for a direct admit. We wheel the stretcher up to the door, ring the buzzer.
"Hello?"
"Ambulance."
"Okay, I'll be right down!"
"Uh... you can walk?"
"Sure."
"Can you just meet us at the ambulance?"

Turns out he's an inpatient, who went home for the evening for dinner. Nobody knew why we were sent; I think a taxi took him home in the first place. We just left him in the hospital lobby; he knew where to go better than we did.

---

At 10:30 at night, we get sent with the local fire department to a dialysis center for an "unknown medical." My partner bets that someone just needs a ride home. We get there, no aid car. Call our dispatcher, who calls the fire department dispatcher, who says that the aid car cleared a while ago. We shrug, and head back to quarters. Halfway there, we get sent back as more information comes in to our dispatcher. The aid car crew left because it was a "stable patient" that didn't need any care. (Abandonment? What's what?)

I own five bucks.

We took the guy home more out of pity than anything else -- he'd been waiting over 5 hours for a cab to show up. It took an hour and a half to go 10 miles, starting at what was by then 11pm; there were still that many cars out on the road, sitting at a standstill. I had the ambulance idling in park for 20 minutes at one point.

---