I just enlisted in the Navy As HM Corpsman

judo510

Forum Ride Along
I just enlisted in the Navy As HM Corpsman E-3
I Ship out May 27th 2009.

It's interesting hearing different views on the medical field in the military. My ultimate goal is to be an ER Nurse. I'm an EMT- B now.

There's a program called Military Enlisted Commissioning Program for the Navy. It's a program that enables enlisted sailors become Nurses and medical officers if accepted. I heard on the Corpsman Podcast that I can get my package ready to turn in before I go to Basic. Turn my package in during Basic. Then Go to Corpsman School. Then I could possibly be accepted. Then have the Navy pay for my nursing school.

Pros: Nursing School is paid. active duty pay while in school. Officer after BSN and Officers school.

Cons: Serving 20 years as an officer is a huge commitment.

I'm leaning towards it doing it.

But my question is I have the ability to try out for the program now. Should I get experience as an enlisted Corpsman first. Maybe one or two years then apply for MECP. Or should I try to get it as soon as possible?

24 y/o male

I will also see what Corpsman.com Forums have to say.

8jimi8

CFRN
don't you think that 22 or 23 years is a bigger commitment than 20?

Are you comfortable with making a decision that will take you almost as long as you have been alive to fulfill? Imagine the changes in your life that have occurred since 18. Do you really want to live on a boat for the next 12 out of 24 years? What will be left of your prime years once you are done being owned by the government? My nursing degree will have cost me less than $4,000.00 as of may 12, 2009. Add another $1,000.00 and 2 online semesters to upgrade to a BSN, for a total of $5,000.00 and 6 semesters (not to mention my future employer will almost surely reimburse me for the last grand - and i'll be making RN pay while i earn the RN to BSN.)