HIPAA and Facebook

mct601

RN/NRP
Yep, the ugly social media monster is being drug up again.

I am no newcomer to this stuff. I took allied health classes in HS, and took my EMT-B class at 19. Next month will make two years I've been active in EMS and I am halfway through paramedic school. I (think) know HIPAA. I go by it, I am a fairly professional EMT and believe I do a good job and put forth a good image. But I am also very sarcastic.

Last week during one of my rotations, I had a pt jerk his hand while I was drawing his blood, blowing the 20ga I hand in his hand. I got the blood I needed so I put a 20ga in his opposite hand. About an hour later I hear the nurse say "oh no you took it out?", and sure enough he did....... denying it with the catheter in his hand lol. It was funny. On my lunch break, out of humor for my fellow nurses and EMS professional on my [private] Facebook, I posted the status "Yea, it's okay to remove your IV and claim you didn't". That was it. The first few replies were as expected, mostly seasoned vets pointing the finger and laughing at me. However, I got a reply of an over zealous 2nd semester nursing school STUDENT (who's never been in the field) who replied it was a potential "HIPPA" violation. I told her after being in EMS for two years, I was aware of "HIPAA". She went on to say that she figured I knew the consequences blah blah bah, and I told her it was null because I posted non-identifiable information. She tried saying because my status had the city under it that it was enough and "Most people won't know the difference but occasionally you'll get someone like me.... just sayin"