hair & goatees

fm_emt

Useless without caffeine
We had some conflicting information on hair & goatees in class recently, and it almost popped up on a recent ride-along I did.

So, what does your company policy say about hair & goatees?

OP
OP
fm_emt

fm_emt

Useless without caffeine
I'll explain a bit more. I'm a long haired white guy with a goatee. My day job is as a UNIX system administrator for a computer company here in the Silicon Valley. I'm a lowly EMT-B student.
Several of our local police departments have not only dropped their "no goatee" policy but some have asked officers to *grow* goatees.
I realize that one day I might have to cut my hair and/or shave, and I was wondering what the rest of you all had to say about your company policies/etc.
Keep in mind that women seem to be allowed to keep hair of any length.

MedicPrincess

Forum Deputy Chief
The goatee would not be a problem in the service for which I work. As long as its kept neat.

Long hair is not specifically addressed. The policy about hair simply states it must be professional in appearance. Women are expected to either keep it short, or once it gets to a length where it will get in their face it must be pulled up and out of their face.

OP
OP
fm_emt

fm_emt

Useless without caffeine
Interesting! And you're in Florida, I see. Ok, thanks for that reply. I'm wondering what other folks have to say. :)

I usually keep my hair tied back and out of my way anyway. If it's really cold out, I'll stuff it up in a beanie cap too.

Wingnut

EMS Junkie
Yeah, we're not allowed any facial hair, and hair on men has to be short women short or kept up if long. I couldn't work if I had to cut my hair, and that's saying a lot cause EMS is all I really want to do.

And to add...Our nails can't be any longer than 1/4 inch, no bright nail polish, and no jewlery except a watch and a wedding ring...and even the wedding ring can't have anything that sticks out. Jay bought me one special for when I'm out on the rig.