Freezing Up

Vao

Forum Probie
So I'm a relatively new EMT, only about a month of actually work experience, and I had my first 'freeze' the other night. Seemingly basic call, nothing to even be concerned about (a respiratory with no shortness, speaking in full sentences, blah blah) and for some reason I just sorta...locked up. I had the O2 tank in hand, and i just sorta didnt know what to do next.

Now, Im not an idiot, I did rather well in all my classes, I guess i just had a bit of a gap while realizing that this isnt a dummy, and this isnt a classroom. And to be honest, it kinda messed me up.

Now my supervisor talked to me about it, told me its nothing to be concerned about, and that everyone new does it at some point. But is he right? Or am I an invalid :sad: . Anyway. Id love to hear the forums input/stories! Thanks all- Vao

Amycus

Forum Lieutenant
Honestly, it happens to me all the time still. Well, not ALL the time, but plenty of instances where someone else is thinking 1-2 steps ahead of me and naming the next step before I get to it...haha. I generally find when I'm on scene and I hit the "freeze" point- that's when I should start thinking about packaging and transport. Some PTs, that takes awhile to get to, others it'd happen very soon. Like in your scenario- I can't imagine I'd have a long scene time, ask what happened, check lung sounds/vitals, get PMH/meds, O2 and transport.

TacoMEDIC

Forum Crew Member
It happens. If you hit a wall and all else fails, IV, O2, Monitor, Transport. While taking care of these basics, take a mental step back and figure out what your next step is. Don't beat yourself up. It's more common than you think.

JPINFV

Gadfly
...and while staning on the stool of life*, the Fat Man continue to exclaim, "...and the Second Rule of the House of God shall be, 'At a cardiac arrest, the first procedure is to check your own pulse."