Failed Practicals

musashi

Forum Probie
Well, I took my I-85 practicals yesterday and passed the three I-85 skills but failed the random basic (supine immobilization) skill. I feel like such a loser. The examiner wouldn't say nada about what I did/didn't do or what I did wrong. I'll be honest though as I'm new to EMS I don't have alot of experience backboarding people. Any advice? I'm going to retest in a few weeks and since it's the random basic when I take it again it could be any of the three random basic skills.

phunguy

Forum Crew Member
I see people forget PMS.. Pulse, Motor function, Sensation.. Before and after strapping down..

Onceamedic

Forum Asst. Chief
It's weird but even in paramedic practicals, the one station people tend to fail at is one of the basic stations. All I can say is practice practice practice. I know people who treated bleeding and shock picture perfect then failed because they didn't verbalize "load and go". If you haven't already, get a hold of the skill station sheets for all three of the basic stations and MEMORIZE them. Then do them on family. friends, anyone that will let you. Be ruthless with yourself and watch for the critical fails.

Good luck to you.

stephenrb81

Forum Lieutenant
Did you remember to check SMC's (or PMS if that's what you call them, pulse motor skills sensation) after the straps? That seems to be a common mistake, forgetting to check in each extremity.

Sorry about it though, that's what gets most medic students in my area is the random basic skill. I'll have to look back over the skill sheets myself to make sure I haven't built any bad habits over the years

Edit: Wow, was typing my reply and two more jumped in lol, at least we're in agreement

reaper

Working Bum
You also need to make sure your straps are tight, on the LSB and the KED. When you leave the room, they are supposed to tilt the LSB and lift the ked pt. They are looking for excessive movement.