defibrillator implant malfunction

Gbro

Forum Lieutenant
What would you do if your pt's defibrillator implant delivers shock(s) and the monitor is showing NSR, Pt. is not showing any signs of poor perfusion?

This is from an actual review. ALS please join in.

upstateemt

Forum Crew Member
I am a Critical Care EMT and an Electrophysiology Nurse.

Sensing in an ICD can be turned of using a specially designed donut magnet (not just a simple pocket magnet). The donut magnet taped over the device will open a reed switch and prevent sensing and thus preventing discharge.

In the absence of the magnet (and not many ambulances carry magnets) the device will cycle through a pre programed number of shocks and then, hopefully stop.

Single inappropriate shocks are not unusual, since the device is rate modulated something as simple as the patients heart rate going above the upper limit can initiate a shock. A single shock, while uncomfortable, is nothing to worry about but the patient should be transported for evalualtion of the device to make sure that it doesn't happen again.

I have had experience with one patient who was transported to the ER with a device that just kept shocking and shocking. It recycled at the end of the event and started shocking again. VERY SERIOUS. In this paticular patient the device was removed and replaced, the patient recovered physically but emotionally he had a very difficult time.

In the absence of the donut magnet there is not much a pre hospital care giver can do to stop inappropriate shocking.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
What would you do if your pt's defibrillator implant delivers shock(s) and the monitor is showing NSR, Pt. is not showing any signs of poor perfusion?

This is from an actual review. ALS please join in.

reccomend they go to the hospital.
transport them if they agree.
doc a refusal if they dont.
have a coffee.

traumateam1

Forum Asst. Chief
reccomend they go to the hospital.
transport them if they agree.