Corruption in my district?

MissouriEMS

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT and Paramedic student (2 months left!) in central Missouri and I have worked at the same district since I became an EMT 3 & 1/2 years ago.
Things have always seemed unstable financially for the district but lately i've been getting the feeling that things aren't as they seem.

First off, we're a tax based district but we get almost nothing from taxes as we operate in a town with no major retailers or anything substantial to tax (population of 3000)
We're also non-profit.

We run two crews 24/7. one ALS truck staffed by a paramedic and EMT, and a BLS truck staffed by 2 EMTS. The BLS truck acts as a backup for 911 calls and also handles many transfers from a nearby hospital. We run around 1200 calls a year give or take a couple hundred.

So here is the reason I'm starting to suspect some sort of corruption or stealing, or "something" that's not right.
First off, we have board members who have had 1 meeting in the last 3 years. Also, 2 of the board seats are currently empty and have been for as long as I can remember.
The "financial officer" is also the town mayor and the owner of a local "bi-weekly loans" business.

We recently bought a new truck, which took us over a year and a half to get as something went wrong with the loan process. We were driving a hand-me-down 1986 ford van style ambulance that the district had to buy in a pinch when our other truck broke down (which was also 2nd hand from the hospital)

About 6 months ago the purchase of the truck was delayed again because the IRS had put a hold on the stations bank account for back taxes. anyways the truck was finally here and things were looking up after they got the IRS thing taken care of (had something to do with $50,000 in back taxes)