Am I an idiot for becoming an EMT with a college degree?

nationalemt3842

Forum Ride Along
Like I said I have a political science degree and I could get a higher paying job in another field if I wanted to.

I became an EMT because I like being out on the road, helping people, and the freedom that the job offers. I make enough to support myself if I live frugally, and I'm happy. I've been an EMT for a year.

I've had other EMTs tell me that I'm stupid for becoming an EMT. I "chose the wrong career" and that they "give me a year before I hate it." Those people come across as burned out, but it's a line I hear almost every day and part of me feels like they're right. Today I turned down an offer to interview for am $80,000 sales job in Wisconsin, last week it was a $60,000 recruitment job in NYC. Right now I'm lucky if I net $40,000 a year working odd hours with a ton of OT. I don't want to be a salesman or a recruiter, but still, the money looks good.

What do you think?

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
So, both sales and recruiters tend to work on commission; so that 80k and 60k are likely ideal pay levels, which people don't always occur.

a poli sci degree doesn't scream sales or recruitment, so it's likely they were accepting any bachelors degree. if you get an offer for a job that uses the contents of your degree, that interests you, than take it

nothing wrong with working EMS; I did it for 8 years full time, and made a decent living (55k with tons of OT). and this was after I completed my bachelors degree.

Do what makes you happy.

Last edited:

NPO

Forum Deputy Chief
Do the job you like and live within your means. Degrees are becoming more and more useless in all fields. No longer do employers care what your degree is. They might care if you have one. maybe.

This job isn't about money. You've been in the job for a year. If you're having doubts then maybe it's not for you. Do what makes you happy, and let the money sort itself out.