ALS/PALS Certification

VaEMT66

Forum Probie
This question is probably a very stupid question..but, I am going to ask anyway.

Im VERY NEW to the EMS community. I just started EMT-B training a few weeks ago, and just started volunteering for our local rescue squad. So, I still dont know all the "ins and outs" of EMS.

I have seen several places where I can complete the ALS/PALS/PHTLS certs online and at various training centers, but, is it possible to complete the certifications as an EMT-B? Or, do I have to wait and enroll in an Intermediate or Paramedic class?

Thanks.
Jeff

EMT-P633

Forum Crew Member
hey VaEMT66!

yes, you do need to get your EMT-I or EMT-P prior to taking ACLS/PALS.

Im sure you could sit in on the class and learn alot as a basic, This is actually a good idea if you are going to be working with a medic on an ALS rig. you would be learning what you can do to assist them during the call.

As far as obtaining the cert. you have to have either the I or P depending on your state potocols. Prior to enrolling in the class.

OP
OP
VaEMT66

VaEMT66

Forum Probie
Thanks.

I know that when you go through an Intermediate/Paramedic course, you get alot of ALS training. So, I assume these ALS/PALS certs are more indepth than whats taught in class.

Thanks again for the quick reply. I appreciate it.

Jeff

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
Welcome.

As an instructor and Affiliate faculty for ACLS, PALS, I will inform you technically you do not have to have advanced level certification. As well there is NO certification levels from AHA, rather they are education to the standards set forth by the American Heart Association.

It is recommended one has completed such advanced levels to fully understand and be able to utilize the recommendations.