Acid-Base Balance

cointosser13

Forum Crew Member
I'm a medic student and I'm trying so hard to understand this Acid-Base Balance. People tell me just to use the ROME algorithm:

Respirations=Opposite
Metabolic=Equal

But I want to understand all this, rather than it just being a "formula".

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
http://medictests.com/acid-base-balance/

there are several resources (like this one ^^^)you can utilize. I googled acid base balance paramedic and got several results similar. When I get home from my rotation next week (am currently halfway through a 2 week shift) I can post some notes and handouts that helped me.

usalsfyre

You have my stapler
I'm a medic student and I'm trying so hard to understand this Acid-Base Balance. People tell me just to use the ROME algorithm:

Respirations=Opposite
Metabolic=Equal

That's STUNNINGLY oversimplified but sadly will probably work for NREMT.

There's a book called "ABGs Made Simple" or something similar, it's a good resource.

SeeNoMore

Old and Crappy
I actually think you save time and aggravation in the long run by acquiring at least a reasonable level of understanding of these types of topics rather than attempting to go by "tricks, rules" whatever. In the end you won't really understand what is going on and certainly would have a difficult time using the information for anything, especially if your aim is to work in Critical Care/Flight.

That being said there is nothing wrong with starting with the basics and then adding depth to your understanding as you progress. You may never become an expert on acid base balance but it is very reasonable to become proficient and provide good care if you put the time in.