19 y/o interested in making this my career.. many questions on where to begin!

Diabeetus

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys! This is my first post on this awesome forum and I hope it won't be my last. The community looks friendly enough for me to want to ask you guys some questions I had concerning this career path.

Some quick info:

• I'm 19, almost 20.

• I've been home schooled for the majority of my life, I graduated online 2 years ago.

• I've never had a job

• I don't drive (I do have my permit but I'm honestly not interested in learning to drive right now- I was in a minor car wreck but I've been too freaked out to drive since then).

• I have a very professional attitude I strive to make people feel comfortable and wanted and I really enjoy helping people.

My questions:
I'm really boggled on where to go from here. From what I understand I will need to go to school to become a certified EMT-B(asic) correct? Would I call up my local community colleges and ask if they have any EMS courses or do I call the local fire department or hospital and ask them for instructions on where to go? Maybe you guys can fill me in.

As far as money goes from what I understand EMTs make just above minimum wage ($9-$11) but they get to work alot of hours (24/48hr shifts) and some days they don't get too many calls which results in getting paid to sit around- would this be true?

I read some facts on my local city website about Fire and EMS, here they are:

• How Many EMTs & Paramedics Are There?
    63 EMTs and 12 Paramedics

• How Many Emergency Runs Are Completed in a Year?
    In 2009, we responded on 4635 emergency runs. This number will dramatically increase this year as we have for now assumed the non-emergent runs for the county.

• What Are the Training/Educational Requirements for EMTs and Paramedics?
    EMT school is usually a 6 month class and is offered at several colleges and by private instructors.