Why Advance to an EMT-I for All Volunteer BLS?

catskills

Forum Crew Member
I am a volunteer EMT-B on a local all volunteer BLS Fire and Rescue agency. I have been doing this on and off for a number of years and enjoy helping our community. I was thinking about becoming an EMT-I. Give me some reasons why I should advance to EMT-I :unsure: . I don't plan to quit my day job and/or work part time as a paid EMT. The only time I could actually use intermediate EMT skills on my BLS agency is "maybe" assisting paid medics working in the back of our BLS rig, which does happen a lot.

Give me some reasons???

skyemt

Forum Captain
so, you are saying that time really isn't a problem...

and you should just stay a basic instead of maybe being able to do more and help save someone's life?

really!

if you plan on being a part of your association, and you have the ability to get a higher cert, why wouldn't you do it?

it's not about you... it's about the pt in the back of the rig, who you WON'T be able to help, because your were feeling sorry for yourself that you will only be helping paid medics, etc blah blah..

the work we do is not about us... it's about our patients. they don't care too much about our issues... they just want to be helped in the best way possible.

is that a good enough reason for you?

firecoins

IFT Puppet
The only reason seems because you want the extra education. Its a very good reason. You will be able to help medics more because you can do an IV if a medic needs an extra set of hands while he handles airways. Of course he heas to let you do that. But the more education the better.

Flight-LP

Forum Deputy Chief

and you should just stay a basic instead of maybe being able to do more and help save someone's life?

really!

if you plan on being a part of your association, and you have the ability to get a higher cert, why wouldn't you do it?