What Makes a Good EMT?

mikie

Forum Lurker
This may seem vague but I'm just looking for some general answers (and maybe some tips), especially from the veterans of the community. I've always heard a lot about people saying, "oh yeah, she's a bad EMT or visa versa."

so...

What makes a good EMT?

(FYI: I'm about 7-8 months into having my EMT license and have been on an ILS squad (volly. FD) for a few months) as well as clinical exposure and other ride-along experience (post licenser). So I'm still new to the game (metaphorically, of course) and have so much to learn.

Thanks!

firecoins

IFT Puppet
The whole point of EMS is to take the patient to the hospital closest to where you want to eat. At least that is what I learned in paramedic school. B)

Epi-do

I see dead people
Be caring and empathetic. Listen to your patients and what they have to tell you. While you need to know local policies, procedures, and protocols, never stop learning and bettering yourself. That way, you can always do what is best for your patients. Don't fall into the trap of only treating the gadgets you have and only using the protocols to do so. Think about what your patient is telling you - verbally, through body language, and how they present - and then do what is best for them.

Continue your education! Take an A&P class, learn about phramocology. While as a basic there aren't alot of meds you can give, take the time to be a better EMT and understand why you are giving them and the why's and how's of their actions.

When the next new guy ( or girl) comes along, give them a hand. Answer their questions to the best of your ability or refer them on to a resource (another person, book, website, etc.) that can answer it. Lead by example. Along with continuing to educate yourself, remember the golden rule, and treat others how you want to be treated.

SC Bird

Forum Lieutenant
Being able to think on your feet....