What I learned on shift today...

mct601

RN/NRP
I am making this thread to share a lesson learned/new experience that I had a few days ago while on shift. Feel free to join in and discuss, and even add in experiences of your own- but please keep this clean and polite. For example I am new, and still learning the ways of EMS. I love feedback on what I should have done different, but that can be done without insulting my intelligence or questioning my mandhood.

A few days ago we had a fairly typical day at work. I was working with a medic of nine years, who I have never worked with before. I enjoyed working with her and we had a fairly simple day (3-4 calls). Later that night, approx 10pm we get toned for a car accident a few miles out. Immediately after, we get canceled due to another unit being closer. Within five minutes we are toned out to post at a station in the middle of the county due to the remaining trucks being called out (we are the northern truck). Mind you, our county is fairly big. Its not bad until the fecal matter collides with the wind turbine and we have to run a call cross county. Anyways, we set out to our post when we get toned out to a burn in an area which would typically be in the coverage area of one of the southern trucks. I have not yet worked a burn of any sort, so this entire call is a new experience for me. I also figured it was going to be a simple call (maybe something involving a grill or stove?)..... until dispatch gave us the ETA for the air medic.