What do i need to work as a er tech?

precA0603

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT-B but i cant find a job in a ambulance company, mainly because of my age, i am 19. So i want to work as an ER TECH. I heard you usually only need the EMT-B license and a phlebotomy cert.? I am located in LA county.

angels.girl84

Forum Crew Member
Check out the hospital's job postings off their website, it differs for each hospital, for mine they only want EMT-Basic

I am an EMT-B but i cant find a job in a ambulance company, mainly because of my age, i am 19. So i want to work as an ER TECH. I heard you usually only need the EMT-B license and a phlebotomy cert.? I am located in LA county.

Cawolf86

Forum Captain
In the LA city area they generally want EMT-B, Phlebotomoy, ECG Tech, and experience. These jobs are also a lot more competitive than the EMT jobs - good luck.

jjesusfreak01

Forum Deputy Chief
In the LA city area they generally want EMT-B, Phlebotomoy, ECG Tech, and experience. These jobs are also a lot more competitive than the EMT jobs - good luck.

Thats a lot for just an ER tech. Around here all blood drawing is generally done by nurses, I think some CNA IIs do it also. Apparently you don't actually have to have a certification for phlebotomy, you just need to be taught how to do it, and you can get a certification if your employer states you have (a lot of) experience doing it or you can take a class for it. I hope those jobs pay better than EMT jobs with that list.

Cawolf86

Forum Captain
Thats a lot for just an ER tech. Around here all blood drawing is generally done by nurses, I think some CNA IIs do it also. Apparently you don't actually have to have a certification for phlebotomy, you just need to be taught how to do it, and you can get a certification if your employer states you have (a lot of) experience doing it or you can take a class for it. I hope those jobs pay better than EMT jobs with that list.