WEMT best way to get EMT-B while on leave

Kthanid

Forum Crew Member
Hi guys I am a Brit contractor in Afghanistan and want to get an EMT-B cert during a month or so leave in the US.

Was thinking a WEMT course would be a good idea as

A. Can do it all in 1 month
B. Residential aspect(food and lodgings) makes things easy for a foreigner.

The actual wilderness aspect is not that important to me, just a means to an ends(aka NREMTB )

Have a couple of noob questions hoped someone could help with.
1. Are RMI(remote medical international) as good as SOLO, NOLS etc for WEMT training?
2. Does all the wilderness stuff floating around your head by the end of the course tend to interfere with passing the NR exam?
3. Is my reasoning in A and B sound, or have I missed something.

Thanks for any replies :)
K

Last edited by a moderator:

usafmedic45

Forum Deputy Chief
Any condensed EMS training program for initial training is a bad idea.

bstone

Forum Deputy Chief
1 month training is about 2 month less than ideal and about 6 months less than it ought to be.

The consensus here will be that any condensed program is one to avoid.

nemedic

Forum Captain
I agree that the condensed programs aren't a great idea, but if that is your plan, go for the straight EMT-B in a month course.

Mountain Res-Q

Forum Deputy Chief
Condensed = Bad

WEMT with no plan to use the Wilderness = Bad

WEMT Course and you want to be a Regular EMT = Really Bad