VITAMINC mnemonic

augustHorch

Forum Probie
Im having trouble understanding the real use of this mnemonic.

(pulled from wikipedia)
The patient interview rarely indicates a single diagnosis; rather, usually there is a list of potential diagnoses, called a differential diagnosis. Systematically thinking through a differential diagnosis ensures that all possibilities are considered. The mnemonic VITAMIN C is commonly used to accomplish this:

Vascular
Infectious
Traumatic
Autoimmune
Metabolic
Idiopathic/iatrogenic
Neoplastic
Congenital

I just got hired on with ATCEMS and they want us to be very familiar with this prior to the start of academy (two weeks from now).

I have been an EMT-Basic for almost 4 years, worked in washington state up until now, and have never used this before.

Thanks guys

OP
OP
augustHorch

augustHorch

Forum Probie
After posting this i realized that im being incredibly vague in what i am asking...

Im really wondering if people use this in their assessment and move through the entire mnemonic?

Or is this just a guide if youve done your assessment and get stuck not undertsanding what the cause of specific symptom is?

Or is it just something to help, by process of elimination, narrow in on the assumed cause?

Just wondering if anyone actually pulls this on calls, and when, and how...?

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
I don't think I've ever heard of this particular mnemonic. I'm dubious of its benefits also, I just don't see it being very helpful.

Flight-LP

Forum Deputy Chief
ATCEMS wants you to memorize and utilize this?!?!? WTH for??!!!!!

There is minimal practical purpose for a Paramedic to use this and really none for an EMT-B.

One would think that ATCEMS has higher priorities than this for its incoming field staff.

OP
OP
augustHorch

augustHorch

Forum Probie
I don't think I've ever heard of this particular mnemonic. I'm dubious of its benefits also, I just don't see it being very helpful.

im glad im not the only one...