Typical percentage of calls by type?

sinus

Forum Probie
Hi. I'm a EMT-B student, I do pretty well with the book stuff. I do read ahead sometimes about ALS interventions, and find them fascinating. However, I heard someone say that an average medic might do 5 inutubations a year.

Which led me to thinking. How often is an "ALS intervention" performed?

Something like:

I give narcotic pain relief on X% of calls
I have to intubate on X% of calls
I have to chemically restraint X%

and so on...

Just as a baseline....Any thoughts?

TechMedic

Forum Lieutenant
I ride as a basic but our paramedic will ride in with us on maybe 5% of our calls. 80% is usually bs

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
It's going to depend on the system that people work in.

For my area 1 medic may intubate 10 people a year while another medic may not intubate at all that year.

Pain relieve is a lot more common than intubation but once again it varies greatly.

The only chemical restraint we can do is for excited delirium. That is very rare for us to have to do.

wowmulewow

Forum Probie
Like the others said, its all dependent on your location, geographic density, etc. There is really no way of knowing what type of ALS (if any) may occur in any period of time. Most calls in EMS are BLS level calls. One thing you could do, is get your statistics from the state. Most states break down procedures and call types over a period of years. Call types mainly pertain to the Emergency Management side of the house, but can help determine where ALS type calls may occur more frequently in one area, rather than another.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I give pain management for approx 25% of my calls. ALS (including ILS skills) account for probably 1/3 or a little more. But I'm an aggressive medic and will happily give out the candy if they need it.